A Wi-Fi 7 readiness checklist starts at the wired side: the switch port speed, the PoE power, the uplink and the cable all decide whether a Wi-Fi 7 access point runs at full function. This guide checks each in order, using manufacturer data sheets for three Wi-Fi 7 access points we sell.

The short answer

  1. Check the access point's power class for full function, then the switch port and total budget behind it.
  2. Use a multigigabit (2.5G, 5G or 10G) port if you want the AP to run faster than 1G on its uplink.
  3. Check the cable for the speed and distance you intend to run.
  4. Confirm the controller or cloud platform, software release and licence.
  5. Check 6 GHz rules for the country and the regulatory variant.
  6. Check your clients: Wi-Fi 7 features need Wi-Fi 7 clients, drivers and security settings.

What the data sheets say

The table summarises the three Wi-Fi 7 access points named in this guide. Check the exact ordering code and regulatory variant before buying.

Cisco CW9176I Arista C-460 Juniper AP47
Wired uplink One multigigabit RJ-45: 1G, 2.5G, 5G, 10G Two RJ-45 ports, 100M to 10G Two RJ-45 ports, 100M to 10G
Full-function power 802.3bt; 39 W max draw with USB, 30 W without 802.3bt Class 6; 41.8 W max 802.3bt
On 802.3at 2.4 GHz radio at 2x2, USB off, uplink 2.5G 2.4 GHz limited to 2x2, USB off, second port off, lower 2.4 GHz power Radios at reduced settings, USB off, ports still 10G
On 802.3af Uplink 1G; radio configuration not specified Not specified in the sheet Radios off; cloud connectivity only
Management Meraki cloud, or on-premises with Catalyst 9800 and Catalyst Center Arista CloudVision CUE, cloud or on-premises Juniper Mist cloud

Sources: the Cisco Meraki CW9176I and CW9176D1 data sheet, the Arista C-460 data sheet, and the Juniper AP47 data sheet page. The Meraki sheet also mentions an 802.3bt Class 6 requirement elsewhere, which does not match its 39 W table, so confirm the power class with the supplier. The Juniper page did not state a wattage for the AP47, so take the figure from the AP47 data sheet you receive before sizing a power budget.

Step 1: PoE class and budget

Power decides what the AP does, not just whether it turns on. The Ethernet Alliance's Overview of IEEE 802.3bt gives a Class 4 (802.3at) port 30 W at the switch and 25.5 W at the device, and Class 5 and 6 (802.3bt) 45 W and 60 W at the port. Per the sheets above, all three APs give up features on 802.3at. If you want the full-function column, buy 802.3bt-capable switch ports, and check the switch's total budget as well as the port rating. The method, with a worked example, is in the PoE budget planning guide.

Step 2: Multigigabit switch ports

A 1G switch port caps the AP uplink at 1G. The Cisco Catalyst 9300 data sheet lists multigigabit ports at 10G, 5G, 2.5G, 1G or 100M. Multigigabit (IEEE 802.3bz) covers 2.5G and 5G over twisted-pair cabling. The Arista and Juniper sheets show their APs negotiating from 100M up to 10G, and the CW9176I data sheet lists a 2.5G uplink at 802.3at and 10G at 802.3bt, so a 2.5G port is a workable minimum for the CW9176I on PoE+ and a 10G port suits a bt-powered one. Whether you need that speed depends on traffic; the radio rates on the sheets are headline PHY rates, not real throughput.

Multigigabit switches in our range include:

Step 3: Cabling

Cisco's Catalyst 9300 hardware installation guide states the ports support 100 Mbps to 5 Gbps on Cat5e, and up to 10 Gbps on Cat6 and Cat6A up to 100 m. It adds that 10 Gbps over Cat6 is limited to 55 m, that Cat6A supports 10GBASE-T up to 100 m, and that 5 Gbps on Cat5e supports only 45 m of bundled length with the remaining 55 m unbundled. Arista's data sheet recommends Cat6A for the C-460.

Run What the sources say
2.5G or 5G on Cat5e Supported; for 5G only 45 m bundled
10G on Cat6 Limited to 55 m
10G on Cat6A Up to 100 m
C-460 Cat6A recommended by Arista

Test installed cabling against the speed you plan, not just the category printed on the cable.

Step 4: Controller, software and licences

  • Cisco CW9176I: runs under a Meraki dashboard or an on-premises Catalyst 9800 controller with Catalyst Center. The data sheet states a Cisco subscription or Meraki access point licence is required. The sheet does not give a minimum release; Cisco's migration guide says Wi-Fi 7 is disabled globally on Catalyst 9800 after install or upgrade and must be enabled per band.
  • Arista C-460: managed by CloudVision CUE as a cloud service or on-premises. The ordering table lists bundles with 3-year or 5-year cloud subscriptions; confirm which one your quote includes.
  • Juniper AP47: managed through Mist cloud. The page does not say whether a subscription is mandatory for basic operation, so confirm the subscription with the supplier.

See Licences and support contracts for what to record about terms.

Step 5: 6 GHz and regulatory variants

Read Wi-Fi 6, 6E or 7 access points for country rules. Check the exact variant, since Juniper notes that supported bands are subject to country restrictions, that the AP47E-US runs in standard power mode on 6 GHz in the US while the AP47 and AP47D start in low-power indoor mode, and that you should use only the SKU designated for your region. Cisco's migration guide states that 6 GHz carries only WPA3 or Enhanced Open networks and that 6 GHz power limits differ by country.

Step 6: Client readiness

An AP only delivers Wi-Fi 7 gains to Wi-Fi 7 clients. Cisco's migration guide says Windows laptops need Windows 11 24H2 and current drivers, that many adapters shipped with 11be disabled, and that early Wi-Fi 7 clients without GCMP256 cannot join multi-link networks. Count how many of your clients are Wi-Fi 7 capable before you pay for the uplink and PoE.

Common mistakes

  • Buying Wi-Fi 7 APs and connecting them to 1G PoE+ ports.
  • Reading "PoE" on a switch data sheet without checking the class and total budget.
  • Assuming Cat5e or Cat6 carries 10G to 100 m.
  • Forgetting the cloud subscription or controller release.
  • Ordering a regulatory variant that does not match the country.

Frequently asked questions

Does a Wi-Fi 7 access point need a multigigabit switch port?

Not to function, but a 1G port limits the uplink; per the data sheets, these APs offer uplinks up to 10G.

Can I power a Wi-Fi 7 AP from PoE+?

The three sheets show it works with reductions, such as 2.4 GHz at 2x2 and USB off, and on Juniper's AP47 sheet 802.3af leaves cloud connectivity only.

Do I need new cabling?

Possibly. Cat5e supports up to 5G; 10G needs Cat6A for full length per Cisco's guide.

What to include in your quote request

  • Access point model and regulatory variant, and quantity.
  • Switch model, multigigabit port count and PoE class per port.
  • Total PoE budget and power-supply configuration.
  • Cable category, run lengths and test results.
  • Management platform and licence term.
  • Client mix and country of installation.

Send these with a quote request.

Related products

Cisco CW9176I (guide), Arista AP-C460 (guide), Juniper AP47-WW (guide), Cisco C9300X-24HX-A, Cisco C9350-48HX, Juniper EX4400-48MP, Juniper EX4100-24MP.

Download: get this checklist as a printable PDF, the Wi-Fi 7 readiness checklist, and size switch power with the PoE budget calculator.