Choosing between the Catalyst 9200, 9200L, 9300, 9300L and 9300X comes down to uplinks, stacking, PoE, multigigabit and routing scale. This guide compares the five series using Cisco's data sheets and the records in our catalogue, and links each model we list.
The short answer
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| A small or branch access switch, 1G uplinks, modest routing | 9200L |
| A 9200-class switch with swappable uplinks and a faster stack | 9200 |
| Fixed uplinks at lower cost, with 9300-class scale | 9300L |
| Modular uplinks, StackPower and UPOE for a main access layer | 9300 |
| 10G multigigabit access, UPOE+ (90 W) or 25G/100G uplinks | 9300X |
Always compare exact ordering codes. The letters in a part number (for example -E or -A) tell you the licence tier; see Cisco part numbers explained.
Side-by-side comparison
Figures come from the Cisco Catalyst 9200 data sheet and Catalyst 9300 data sheet.
| 9200L | 9200 | 9300L | 9300 | 9300X | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Uplinks | Fixed: 4 x 1G, 4 x 1/10G, or 2 x 1/10/25G (PXG models) | Modular | Fixed: 4 x 1G, 4 x 10G/1G, or 2 x 40G | Modular | Modular |
| Network modules | None | C9200-NM-4G, -4X (also -2Y, -2Q on PXG) | None | 1G, 10G, 25G, 40G and multigigabit modules | 10G, 25G, 40G, multigigabit and 100G modules |
| Stacking | StackWise-80 (80 Gbps) | StackWise-160 (160 Gbps) | StackWise-320 (320 Gbps) | StackWise-480 (480 Gbps) | StackWise-1T (1 Tbps) |
| Stack members | 8 | 8 | 8 | 8 | 8 |
| StackPower | Not stated in data sheet | Not stated in data sheet | No | Yes | Yes (StackPower+) |
| PoE types | PoE+ | PoE+ | PoE+, UPOE | PoE+, UPOE, UPOE+ | UPOE+ (90 W) on PoE models |
| Multigigabit | PXG models | PXG models | UXG models | UX and UN models | 24HX, 48HX and 48HXN models |
| Switching ports | 24 or 48 | 24 or 48 | 24 or 48 | 24 or 48 | 12, 24 or 48 |
The 9300L is also listed with a 9300LM variant that has four fixed 25G uplinks and the same StackWise-320 stack.
Uplinks: fixed or modular
A fixed-uplink switch (9200L, 9300L) is simpler to order and has no module to forget. A modular switch (9200, 9300, 9300X) lets you change uplink speed later, and the module is a separate line item. Cisco notes that the 9300X module C9300X-NM-4C works only with the 48HX, 48TX and 24Y models, so check module-to-chassis compatibility before ordering. Optics and cabling still need to match: see SFP vs SFP+ vs SFP28 and DAC vs AOC vs optics.
Stacking bandwidth and mixing
Stack bandwidth rises up the range: 80 Gbps (9200L), 160 Gbps (9200), 320 Gbps (9300L), 480 Gbps (9300) and 1 Tbps (9300X). Cisco's 9300 data sheet states a few rules:
- A mixed 9300X and 9300 stack runs at 480 Gbps.
- Fixed-uplink (L and LM) and modular-uplink models cannot be stacked together.
- Higher-scale 9300 models (24UB, 24UXB and 48UB) stack only with each other.
- 9300L and 9300LM mix only with each other.
PoE, UPOE and multigigabit
PoE+ gives up to 30 W per port, UPOE 60 W and UPOE+ 90 W (the 9300 data sheet lists the same levels). Per-port capability is not the same as total budget. The 9200 data sheet gives 370 W with the primary supply on a 24-port PoE+ model, 740 W with a secondary supply and 1440 W on the 48-port models with two supplies. Cisco states that available PoE is limited by port number and port rating: 24 ports at 30 W is 720 W.
Choose multigigabit where Wi-Fi access points need more than 1G. The 9200 and 9200L offer it on the PXG models, with 8 to 12 ports up to 10G. The 9300 range has 2.5G, 5G and 10G options, and the 9300X is the line with 10G ports across a whole 24- or 48-port switch. See Wi-Fi 6, 6E and 7 access points.
Routing and scale
Cisco's data sheets give these scale figures (the 9300 sheet lists IPv4 routes as ARP plus learned):
| 9200L | 9200 | 9300L/LM | 9300 | 9300X | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MAC addresses | 16,000 | 32,000 | 32,000 | 32,000 | 32,000 |
| IPv4 routes (ARP plus learned) | 11,000 | 14,000 | 32,000 | 32,000 | 39,000 |
| IPv6 routing entries | 1,500 | 2,000 | 16,000 | 16,000 | 19,500 |
| ACL entries | 1,500 | 1,600 | 5,120 | 5,120 | 8,000 |
Higher-scale 9300 models list 64,000 MAC addresses and 112,000 IPv4 routes. VLAN IDs are 4,094 on every series. The 9200 range is the one to question if you route a lot of traffic or need large tables; the 9200L has one virtual network where the 9200 has four.
Licence tiers
All five use perpetual Network Essentials or Network Advantage licences, and a Cisco DNA Essentials or Advantage subscription (3, 5 or 7 years) whose tier matches the network tier. Cisco's newer Networking Subscription has Switching Essentials and Switching Advantage tiers with a 36-month standard minimum for new subscriptions. Confirm which route the quote follows. Our catalogue records give Network Essentials for the -E codes and Network Advantage for the C9300X-24HX-A. See Licences and support contracts.
Models in the catalogue
| Model | Series | Catalogue record |
|---|---|---|
| C9200-24T-E | 9200 | 24 x 10/100/1000, no PoE, modular uplinks, Network Essentials (model guide) |
| C9200L-24T-4G-E | 9200L | 24 x 10/100/1000, no PoE, 4 x 1G, Network Essentials (model guide) |
| C9200L-24P-4X-E | 9200L | 24 x 10/100/1000, PoE+, 4 x 10G, Network Essentials (model guide) |
| C9300-24T-E | 9300 | 24 x 1G, no PoE, modular, module not included (model guide) |
| C9300L-24T-4X-E | 9300L | 24 x 1G, no PoE, 4 x 10G/1G SFP+ fixed (model guide) |
| C9300X-24HX-A | 9300X | 24 x 100M to 10G, UPOE+, modular, Network Advantage (model guide) |
Cloud-managed Meraki versions exist as C9300-24P-M and C9300-48P-M; they need a separate Meraki licence. Replacing older switches? See Catalyst 2960-X and 3850 replacement. For wider selection steps, read How to choose a campus switch.
Common mistakes
- Choosing a 9200L when you expect to change uplink speed later.
- Forgetting the network module on a modular switch.
- Planning a stack of fixed-uplink and modular-uplink models.
- Assuming a PoE+ port count means a full-power budget.
- Comparing routing scale across series without checking the table above.
- Buying Network Essentials when a feature needs Network Advantage.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between the Catalyst 9200 and 9200L?
The 9200 has modular uplinks and StackWise-160; the 9200L has fixed uplinks and StackWise-80, with lower scale figures in Cisco's data sheet.
What is the difference between the 9300 and 9300L?
The 9300 has modular uplinks, StackWise-480 and StackPower. The 9300L has fixed uplinks, StackWise-320 and no StackPower.
What does the 9300X add?
StackWise-1T, UPOE+ at 90 W, 10G multigigabit access and higher base scale figures than the standard 9300 models.
Can I mix 9300 and 9300L in a stack?
Cisco's data sheet says fixed-uplink and modular-uplink models cannot be stacked together.
What to include in your quote request
- Exact ordering codes, including the licence suffix.
- Port count, copper or SFP, and speeds needed.
- PoE class and total PoE budget, with power supplies.
- Uplink speed, and the network module if the switch is modular.
- Stack size, stack kits and cables.
- Network Essentials or Advantage, and any DNA subscription term.
- Shipping country.
Send these in a quote request.